Happy Australia Day

Australian Flag

Well it’s Australia Day – a time to take it easy and relax. I’ve just finished eating some celebratory lamingtons and Tim Tams with my family. I’m not going to go too deep and meaningful in today’s post, I’m just going to have a little fun.

Note, this post has a bunch of youTube videos in it. However, my internet connection is currently so slow that I can’t actually preview any of them. I just hope there’s nothing too dodgy in any of them.

I’m going to share some trailers from some of my favourite Australian films. First, we have the dramatic comedy ‘Charlie and Boots’. This is a great movie about a father and son helping each other through the painful experiences of life. Sometimes it makes you want to cry, other times it makes you roll on the floor laughing, but all the way through it makes you feel proud to be an Australian.

Next, there’s The Dish. This is the story of Australia’s contribution to the Apollo moon landing. While not specifically a comedy this film also has some very funny moments. This film is dripping with Aussie pride.

A recent film I saw was ‘Tomorrow When the War Began’. Based on the novel by John Marsden, this is a thrilling action adventure about a group of teenagers trying to survive when Australia is invaded unexpectedly. This movie demonstrates that Australian cinema has definitely come of age.

Finally, just for one more bit of fun, a couple of years ago, an Indian taxi driver released a song that went viral. In it, he sang about being a fair-dinkum Aussie. Australians often celebrate the fact that our population is made up of people who have come from all over the world.

And just before I go, I would like to remind everybody to please Buy Australian Books.

HAPPY AUSTRALIA DAY!

About Adam Collings

Adam Collings is a writer of speculative fiction who works as a software engineer during the day. He lives in Tasmania, Australia with his wife and two children. Adam is currently working on a science fiction novel.
This entry was posted in Australia and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy Australia Day

  1. Completely agree. Tomorrow When the War Began provides a little glimpse into the future of Australian film and it’s a lot brighter than I previously believed. I’m Australian but Australian cinema has always disappointed me and although I try my best to be supportive, I find it very hard sometimes. Tomorrow When the War Began however, was a triumphant expose of not only Australian cinema, but also our literature. Hurrah! P.S. Happy Australia Day :)

Leave a Reply

