Change Boss – Romans 6

My musings on Romans 6

Romans 6 talks about being dead to sin and alive in Christ. This is a picture of what happens to a person when they become a Christian. By dying to sin we are set free from our slavery to it, and by being made alive in Christ we become a new creation. I think this relates to what Jesus means when he talks about ‘the flesh’ (our old life in sin), and ‘the spirit’ (our new life in Christ).

This chapter gives three steps to victory over sin in a Christian’s life [1].

  1. Understand that you are dead to sin. (Verse 11) The sinful part of us is already dead or dying. When we allow this part of us to control our life we have a dead man behind the wheel. Our Spirit should be stronger because it is alive in Christ.
  2. Do not let sin reign in your life. (Verse 12)
  3. Offer yourself – your whole self – to God, in service, submission and love. (Verse 13)

I think parts 2 and 3 are closely linked. It is hard to not let sin reign in your life, unless it is replaced by something.

Verses 15 to 23 talk about being a ’slave to righteousness’. As a Christian, I have changed masters. I used to be a ’slave to sin’, for which the wages are death. Now, I am a willing servent to righteousness, for which the reward is the free gift of eternal life.

I think of it this way, I have had three jobs since I graduated from University. As I left one job, and started another, I changed masters. I no longer obeyed my former boss. If I kept working for my previous boss, doing what he wanted me to do, while being paid by my current boss, I probably wouldn’t have a job for very long. So why do we do it in life? Picturing it this way helps me to remember where my allegience lies and who I should be living for.

References
[1] NIV Bible Study notes. Copyright (C) 1985; The Zondervan Corporation.

About Adam David Collings

Adam Collings is a writer of speculative fiction who works as a software engineer during the day. He lives in Tasmania, Australia with his wife and two children. Adam is currently working on a science fiction novel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

