Sharing and Generosity

My daughter Chloe is growing up so fast. It is exciting to see her begin to mature. I observed something in her the other day that impressed me. We were at the supermarket. Both kids were tired and crabby so we were trying to get through our fortnightly groceries quickly. To distract the kids we sometimes let them hold items. Harrison was holding something, I can’t remember what it was. We had just grabbed a packet of buscuits from the shelf and had handed it to Chloe. Harrison immediately saw them and began to cry and protest. “Biccies! I want biccies!”

Straight away, Chloe handed the packet to her little brother. He stopped crying. I thought this showed a great deal of maturity for a four year old. It seemed that Chloe had enough generosity, not only to share, but to give away something to make somebody else happy. It occurred to me that she must understand that ultimately the biccies were mine, regardless of who was holding them at the time. She knew that when she got hungry, she could come to me and I would give her one, so there was no reason to clutch them closely to herself. This made me very proud.

I begin to understand a little of what it means to have ‘the faith of a little child.’

About Adam David Collings

Adam Collings is a writer of speculative fiction who works as a software engineer during the day. He lives in Tasmania, Australia with his wife and two children. Adam is currently working on a science fiction novel.
This entry was posted in Devotionals, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

