Happy New Year

As you may have noticed, postings on ‘The Collings Zone’ have been rather sporadic of late. I intend to write with a little more regularity in 2010, if not posting more often, then at least establishing a regular rhythm.

Today is the First of January 2010, so Happy New Year. I guess I should take a little look back at the year just gone. 2009 was a big year for me and my family. It began with a trip to Melbourne for the National Christian Youth Convntion. This was a big week. It was challenging going about the business of the conference with two young children, but I also found myself challenged to ‘put my faith where my mouth was’. I came home and did something I had been thinking about for a long time – I volunteered to help feed the homeless at our church drop-in centre. This has become an important part of the expression of what it means to me to be a Christian.

The year also started with me in the aftermath of some difficult finacial times in 2008. This lead into the onset of the ‘global financial crisis’. Could things get any harder? I had wondered. Ironically, the despite the lack of a pay rise that year, the crisis seemed to make life a bit easier. The price of both petrol and milk came down, and we were even able to take the plunge and buy our very first house – something I really didn’t think we would ever do. This has brought its own challenges such as mortage, rates and insurance, but we have gained some wisdom on the way, and its a wonderful feeling to know that if the kids draw on the walls we don’t have to worry about getting in trouble from the owners of the house (unless I decide to tell myself on me).

2009 also brought big changes for my wife, who began to fulfill a life-long dream and study nursing at university. She had applied “just in case” not holding up many hopes, but I knew she would get in. She has now succesfully passed her first year and is loving it.

At work we finally moved into our new office building at Cimitiere House. It’s pretty flash, and has a very nice view. Unfortunately, as a green building, it has no air-conditioning. I really don’t know how I am going to cope in the months from January to March, which tend to be the hottest times of the year in Tasmania.

In the later months of 2009 I decided to get a bit more serious about writing my novel. I have made substatial progress and I’m aiming to have the first draft complete before I return to work in mid-January. It’s been a lot of fun.

I said about a year ago, that I wanted to focus more on God’s Kingdom and less on the everyday worries of life. Well, there have been times when I have succeeded, and there have been times (usually when interest rates go up) that I have fallen back on old habbits. I continue to endevour to live a life of faith, rather than a life of fear.

So, what will 2010 bring? Well my oldest daughter will be starting kindergarten this year so that is a big event. Beyond that, I’m not sure. Continuing to make our new house our our own, working, Linda studying. I really don’t know what else.

The story continues…

About Adam David Collings

Adam Collings is a writer of speculative fiction who works as a software engineer during the day. He lives in Tasmania, Australia with his wife and two children. Adam is currently working on a science fiction novel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

