What I Learned from The Circle

I’ve just finished reading ‘The Circle’ series by Ted Dekker. If you haven’t come across it you must check it out. This four-part series combines a modern-day thriller with an epic fantasy, and a bit of science-fiction thrown in for good measure. This is all wrapped around a powerful spiritual metaphor.

In addition to being a great story with interesting characters, The Circle really made me think. Here are some of the things that I learned from reading.

Book 1 ‘Black’ gave me a new perspective on the absolute horror of sin, and the extent to which it has poisoned this world, from what God originally planned.

Book 2 ‘Red’ challenged me to ask myself the question, “If I had been alive when Jesus walked the earth, would I have been his disciple, or would I have condemned Him as a heratic?”

Book 3 ‘White’ reminded me just how much God loves those that we tend to think are far from Him, and how He is calling them to Himself. It also spoke powerfully about Jesus’ command to ‘love your enemies’.

Book 0 ‘Green’ continued the theme from book 3, and highlighted the fact that our struggle is not against flesh and blood.

As for the story, I still have many un-answered questions, but not to fear because there is still the Paradise spin-offs, and The Lost books.
Happy reading!

Adam.

About Adam David Collings

Adam Collings is a writer of speculative fiction who works as a software engineer during the day. He lives in Tasmania, Australia with his wife and two children. Adam is currently working on a science fiction novel.
This entry was posted in Devotionals, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

