New Beginnings

ChristianWriters Blog Chain

I’m participating in the ChristianWriters.com blog chain again this month. We are discussing new beginnings in line with the new year.

I’m not one to overly romantacise new year – but as I usually take annual leave over this period and I find myself with a little time to reflect on the past and consider the future. As I began to consider these things recently, my mind drifted to Romans 12:2.

Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is – his good, pleasing and perfect will.
– Romans 12:2

This past year has been tough. A lot of different un-related things have added up to make 2010 a very challenging time. I’ve come out of it feeling worn-out, run-down and beaten. I know that 2011 will bring its own challenges and I want to face those challenges with renewed strength and a much healthier attitude. I need more than just a couple of weeks where I don’t go to work. I need the kind of renewing that Paul is talking about in Romans 12:2. I need to be more positive and Christ-like in my thinking. I need to be transformed by the renewing of my mind. I need the Holy Spirit to re-program my head. Our attitudes – and ultimately our actions – are born out of the way we choose to think. I’m not one to believe that I can do it all on my own strength. Neither am I one to just dump it in God’s lap and say ‘fix me’, then sit back and eat icecream while He does all the work. God helping me, I have to make good choices every in every situation.

I write devotional articles on this blog – and I hope to do a lot more of it this year. Some times it can look like Christian bloggers are trying to make out that they have it all together and are telling the world how they should live their lives. I don’t want to give that impression. When I write a devotional article it’s because God is teaching me how to live my life. The most effective way that I grow spiritually is to get into the word of God and blog about it. When I blog I am not a teacher, I am a student.

Even while I was preparing to write this article, I yelled at my daughter, for no good reason, and made her cry. After apologising, being forgiven, and hugging her, I went for a walk to cool off. As I walked, I wondered if I should just give up this type of writing. I wondered if I would ever be close enough to God again to hear His voice. At that moment he spoke to me through Matthew 5:3.

Blessed are the poor in spirit for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
– Matthew 5:3

Poor in Spirit doesn’t just mean that you are weak – it means that you recognise your weakness. This is vital because unless you acknowledge that you are in need of God you will never run to Him. I identify with that. I start this new year poor in spirit – and God’s word says that I am blessed. This is a good place to be. This gives me hope that I have a positive year ahead of me.

So, feel free to keep following my blog this year – but only if you want to read the musings of a hypocritical no good filthy sinner who has been saved by un-imaginable grace. Glory to God.

Follow the chain

Scripture taken from the HOLY BIBLE, NEW INTERNATIONAL VERSION Copyright (C) 1973, 1978, 1984 International Bible Society. Used by permission of Zondervan Bible Publishers.

About Adam David Collings

Adam Collings is a writer of speculative fiction who works as a software engineer during the day. He lives in Tasmania, Australia with his wife and two children. Adam is currently working on a science fiction novel.
This entry was posted in Devotionals. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to New Beginnings

  1. TraciB says:

    Excellent post, Adam, very open and honest. Transparency is one of the best tools for healing and transformation we have at our disposal. God already knows everything about us anyway, and when we’re open in our blogs and lives about our shortcomings and failures, we give Him and ourselves opportunity to make changes, and we show others that a) we’re not perfect; b) we know we’re not perfect and we’re not pretending to be; and c) if we can transform, so can they.

    I read a blog post a while back by someone who had become a Christian after witnessing the walk of a young woman he interacted with on a fairly regular basis. He said that one of the big influences she had on him was not in how she succeeded as a Christian, but how she handled her failures. That was encouraging to me, to know my failures and how I deal with them can be used by God to bless someone else.

  2. We all sin and fall short of the glory of God. Your post sums up our struggles very well.

    Thanks for sharing, for letting us know we’re not alone in our struggles. I look forward to reading more of your devotionals.

  3. E G Lewis says:

    Sorry to be getting here late. Better late than never, heh?
    I definitely agree that we need to do a regular self-examination to see whether progressing or regressing. To quote Socrates: An unexamined life is not worth living.

    I also agree about being poor in spirit. I think the essential key to Chritsianity is humility. So often I speak with people who no longer attend church and when you ask them why it always seems to be about hurt feelings…pride can be deadly/
    Peace and Blessings

  4. Lynn Mosher says:

    Writing devotionals is passing on what God has taught one in His Word and sharing it with others in the hope that they might not make the same mistakes the writer did. Great post, Adam!

  5. I feel the same way about my blog, comparing science fiction with the Bible. Part of me would like to think what I say has never been said or thought of before, but realistically I know better. I point out the truth in those perceptions, believing others have come to the same conclusions and will agree. Maybe by speaking through me, God can even teach others the truth. Whatever. I’m just a servant, not the master.

    I also like your description of what “poor in spirit” means. When we humble ourselves before God in everything we do, we realize how poor we are by comparison and want to follow His will.

    ~ VT

Leave a Reply

