Grandad’s Prayer

While going through some boxes in my garage today, I found the order of service from my Great-Gandfather’s funeral in 1994. Athol Gurr lived from 21/2/1900 to 14/10/1994. He and my Great-Grandmother – Una Gurr – were very Godly people, and committed Christians. They had wanted to serve as misionaries in their youth but were turned down because of Grandma’s heath, and the young age of their children.

On the back page of the order of service, I found a favourite prayer of Grandad’s printed in full. This was a good reminder to me that I come from a great legacy of devoted followers of Jesus. I hope to continue to pass that legacy on to my own children. In Hebrws 12:1, the presence of past heros of faith was suggested as a great motivating force to live our lives for God.

Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us
Hebrews 12:1


The following prayer was a favourite of Athol's, and one he used before retiring at night. It was pasted in the inside of a well worn Daily Light that used to be Una's mum's. It is a fitting reminder of Athol's trust and devotion in the God he loved.

"O God, forgive whatever has been unworthy this day in thought and word and deed. If I have wronged another show me how best to put that wrong right. Then let me put my sins behind my back and be no longer held down by the memory of what is past, as Thou in Thy mercy dost put them behind Thy back, remembering them against me no more for ever.
During this night do Thou remain close to me. Give to Thy beloved in sleep and during the silent watches, in the deepest places of my mind fill me with Thyself. Then shall I awake in Thy likeness, radiant & pure, serence & strong, ready for anything the new day can bring, able to kindle in others the life Thou hast kindled in me, strong in all things to do Thy will.
Into Thy hands I commend my spirit.
Amen"

Scripture taken from the HOLY BIBLE, NEW INTERNATIONAL VERSION Copyright (C) 1973, 1978, 1984 International Bible Society. Used by permission of Zondervan Bible Publishers.

About Adam David Collings

Adam Collings is a writer of speculative fiction who works as a software engineer during the day. He lives in Tasmania, Australia with his wife and two children. Adam is currently working on a science fiction novel.
This entry was posted in Devotionals, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

