Fresh Air pt 2 – Native Animals of Tasmania

In response to my recent article Fresh Air I have decided to share a little about some native Tasmanin wildlife.

Tasmanian Devil

Tasmanian Devil

When you hear Tasmania, you are probably like most people and think of the Tasmanian Devil. This little guy looks nothing like the Warner Bos. cartoon character, but he does have some attitude. He is only found in Tasmania and he is the largest carnivorous marsupial in the world – a title he took from his extinct friend the Thylacine (see below).

The devils can make some pretty ferocious noises and are pretty aggressive when they’re eating.

Sadly, the devils are now an endangered species due to the devil facial tumour disease. A fried of mine is a scientist working on the project to find a cure.

Thylacine

Thylacines

Tasmania’s other iconic animal is the Thylacine – colloquially known as the Tasmanian Tiger. These guys were oficially declared extinct in the 1980s, although they had pretty much been wiped out since the 1930s.

Thylacines were one of only two marsupials in the world to have a pouch in both sexes.

On the boat from Devonport to Sydney, I heard a presentation from a park ranger who was convinced that there were still living Thylacines out there somewhere. Who knows.

Native Hens

Native Hen

The native hen is a bird you often see around Tassie. Despite their name they are not usually eaten. They are flightless.

I often see native hens at a nearby park near the Tamar River that I sometimes take my kids to. I also see them at the tourist village Grindlewald.

 

 

Photo Credits

Sources

About Adam David Collings

Adam Collings is a writer of speculative fiction who works as a software engineer during the day. He lives in Tasmania, Australia with his wife and two children. Adam is currently working on a science fiction novel.
This entry was posted in Australia, Tasmania and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fresh Air pt 2 – Native Animals of Tasmania

  1. Wow, living in Tasmania is almost like living on another planet! Thanks for sharing this, Adam.

    ~ VT

  2. Chris Vonada says:

    ok… Adam, I wanted to write to share with you my thoughts on this one…

    Let me start by saying it was cool to stop by your blog and see more about Tasmania, I am intrigued with what it must be like down in your neck of the woods and would enjoy reading more about your area.

    and…

    I simply must share with you my thoughts on “saving the devil,” my first thought when I read about the plight of the Tasmanian Devil… but then I realized I was just being judgmental for not wanting to help them based on the poor creatures name.

    Be Great,

    Chris

  3. Adam, I really enjoyed both of your Fresh Air posts and found myself wanting to read more. You live in a place I know little about, but now want to know more. Thank you for sharing your own little corner of the planet and enlarging mine. 🙂

Leave a Reply

