Book Review – Story Engineering

Today I would like to give a little review of the book ‘Story Engineering’ by Larry Brooks.

Before I read Story Engineering, I though I knew how to write a novel. I was wrong. Story Engineering opened my eyes to things I didn’t know that I didn’t know. Larry Brooks’ 6 core competencies show you exactly what you need to develop in order to become a publishable author.

The section I found most helpful was on story structure. Now I know the shape that publishers expect a story to fall into. It doesn’t restrict your creativity as some might think, I have found, as Larry suggested it would, that understanding the structure inspires your creativity in new ways.

Ever heard of a one dimensional character? This book actually defines what the three dimensions of character are. This is practical stuff.

I work as a software engineer by day, so looking at the story-writing process from an engineering point of view makes so much sense to me. I now see that programming and fiction writing are much closer than I ever realised. I no longer feel like a walking contradiction.

I cannot recommend this book highly enough. I now consider it essential reading for anyone who, like me, dreams of being a published author some day.

Lary Brooks writes a blog at http://storyfix.com/

About Adam David Collings

Adam Collings is a writer of speculative fiction who works as a software engineer during the day. He lives in Tasmania, Australia with his wife and two children. Adam is currently working on a science fiction novel.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

