Paying Honour on Father’s Day

Today in Australia, we are celebrating Father’s Day. I would like to pay honour to a couple of people.

Firstly, I’d like to pay honour to my grandfather Reginald Collings, who passed away earlier this year. Pop was a hard-working Aussie man who loved his family. He and Nanna were married for 68 years. This is an achievement worth celebrating and honouring. It was apparent to me just how much they loved each other after so long. Pop adored Nanna, and dispite struggling with Alzheimer’s disease in his last few years, he always knew who she was. As long as she was around he knew that everything must be okay. As a young married man, I am inspired by the example of my grandparents, who took their weding vows very seriouly and stayed commited to each other ’till death do us part’.

Pop worked as a blacksmith on the railway. He achieved the position of foreman, which he was very proud of.

Pop loved watching his football. He liked to read westerns. He also loved animals and nature. He was a very keen gardner and grew delicious vegetables.

Secondly, I would like to pay honour to my wife’s grandfather, Neville Hohnke. He passed away just a few weeks ago. Pa Hohnke had a remarkable life story. As a young man, he was run over by a railway carriage and lost both of his legs. He didn’t let this hold him back from living a full life. He married his girlfriend and had three children. He continued to work with the Railway until retirement.

Pa’s faith in God was very important to him, and it gave him much strength, comfort and hope. He loved the Bible. It was special to have him read a passage at our wedding.

Finally, I would like to pay honour to my dad, and my father-in-law. In some ways this might be a difficult father’s day for both of them, as it will be their first without their dads. My hope is that this can be a special day for them, when they know how valued they are as dads.

For myself, I’m having a great Father’s Day so far. I participated in the ‘Father’s Day Triathalon’ at church, trying a tie around my son’s neck, Piggy-backing him around the auditorium, and then lifting him like a weight three times. I came last, but it was great for a laugh.

Happy Father’s Day.

Father's Day photo with my kids

Father's Day photo with my kids

About Adam David Collings

Adam Collings is a writer of speculative fiction who works as a software engineer during the day. He lives in Tasmania, Australia with his wife and two children. Adam is currently working on a science fiction novel.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Paying Honour on Father’s Day

  1. Reece says:

    I really appreciate this post. Families are so important and fathers rarely get the credit they deserve. Hope you have (had?) a great Fathers Day!

  2. Our father’s day is in June, I wonder why the different dates? I also have a lot of great fathers in my life, my husband, my dad, my father-in-law. When I ask my son what he wants to be when he grows up he usually says “A Daddy”

Leave a Reply

