Is It Medicine?

This morning I sat in our church auditorium during Christmas morning service. The lights were dimmed, to give a contemplative atmosphere as the ushers served communion to the congregation. I took my small piece of biscuit and the little plastic cup of grape juice, and handed the tray to my wife. Next to her I could hear the sweet little voice of my four-year old son. It’s always difficult to sush the little guy in church. He’s used to being out in the children’s program, not sitting for long periods of time. With innocence that can only come across as cute, he asked “Is it a drink Mummy? Is it medicine?”

I chuckled to myself. The communion cups did look a little like medicine cups. I began to think on this and I realised that my son had said something quite profound. The juice represents the blood of Jesus which was shed to pay the price for our sins – a debt we could not repay. The thing about sin is it really is like a disease. It has twisted and contorted this world from the day it was introduced. In his epic fantasy series ‘The Circle’ Ted Dekker portrays sin as an illness that scars and mutilates the skin. Worst of all, once the victim gets used to living with this condition, they don’t even realise that they are sick. They get used to, and even take comfort in, the painful rash.

The blood of Jesus is a perfect medicine for the disease of sin. It doesn’t just relieve the symptoms, it cures the root cause of our troubles. I am so grateful that God was willing to give such a costly gift to us.

Merry Christmas everyone!

About Adam David Collings

Adam Collings is a writer of speculative fiction who works as a software engineer during the day. He lives in Tasmania, Australia with his wife and two children. Adam is currently working on a science fiction novel.
This entry was posted in Devotionals and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

