A Writing Manifesto

Just over a week ago, author K.M. Weiland shared The Wordplayer’s Manifesto on her blog. I thought it was so good that (at her suggestion) I wanted to share it here.

I certainly don’t live up to all of this yet, but I think this gives me something worthwhile to aim for in my writing life, and so in the spirit of accountability (and because it’s just plain cool), I am reposting it below.

A Wordplayer's Manifesto

So what do I take from all of this? Well plenty, but I’ll just mention a couple of things. Firstly, I am challenged “write something every day”. I’ve been thinking for a long time that this would be a good habit to form – difficult with my lifestyle – but worthwhile. Tonight I am writing this blog post. Tomorrow night I plan to work on one of my fiction projects.

I quite enjoy the line that says “read read read read read read read”. I’ve been doing this a lot lately. In fact, my new Kindle is rapidly filling up with content (largely thanks to my discovery of Spirit-Filled Kindle. Now, all I need is time to read it all.

The encouragement to ‘give back to the writing community’ is a good one, but what can I do really? It’s easy to fall into the temptation of thinking that I have nothing to offer. I am still very much a student of writing, and while I’ve learned a great deal in the last few years, I’m not currently in a position where I’m qualified to run a writing blog like Wordplay. That’s fine – there are always things we can do at the present stage of the journey. I always write a review when I finish a book – that is beneficial to the author. Plus, I have a couple of younger guys who I share my knowledge with. Every writer can do something to give back to the community which supports us.

I could go on, covering things like ‘don’t slack on the hard stuff’ or ‘follow your heart, not the market’ but I think I’ll turn it over to anyone who is reading this. What stands out to you on this manifesto?

About Adam David Collings

Adam Collings is a writer of speculative fiction who works as a software engineer during the day. He lives in Tasmania, Australia with his wife and two children. Adam is currently working on a science fiction novel.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

