Adam Collings Writing Update March 2012

It’s time for a writing update, and just for fun I’ve done it as a video.


Transcript

How’s it going? I’m Adam Collings – an ameteur writer, or as I like to call myself – an aspiring author.

March has arrive, in fact it’s almost over. I’m not sure how that happened, but tomorrow my little girl is turning 7.

Anyway, it’s about time for a writing update, and I thought, why not do it as a video.

So what have I been up to in my writing life? Well not a whole lot so far this year. Work has been pretty full on over the last three months, and I’m only just now starting to be able to breath again.

Last year I submitted a novel manuscript Hybrid Force, to the Caleb Prize for unpublished fiction. I got some valuable feedback on my work from a published author, which was brilliant.

This year I’ve dusted off the feedback and actually started implementing the suggestions. It’s very satisfying to apply some of the lessons I’ve learned to my novel. There’s heaps more work to do and I really hope I’ll get a chance to get stuck into it properly over the next few months.

I’m also in the process of outlining another project which I like to call my epic space fantasy. I’m starting to come to the conclusion that it’s okay to have more than one writing project in the go at the same time. The idea for this story actually came to me 7 years ago, as I sat in my wife’s room in the maternity wing of the hospital just after my daughter had been born. I’m not saying too much about this yet, but I’m quite excited about the project.

Now, what I’ve lacked in writing, I’ve more than made up for in reading. Thanks to the discovery of Spirit Filled Kindle, I’m rapidly gaining more books than I possibly have to time to read, but I’m churning through them. I set myself a goal of reading 20 books this year, but I’m already 3 books ahead of schedule.

I’m learning a lot from reading other people’s books, and I’ve discovered some awesome new authors. Check out Robin Parrish if you have a minute.

Well. That’s where I’m at right now. I’ll keep writing, and I’ll see you again in April. See ya.

About Adam David Collings

Adam Collings is a writer of speculative fiction who works as a software engineer during the day. He lives in Tasmania, Australia with his wife and two children. Adam is currently working on a science fiction novel.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Adam Collings Writing Update March 2012

  1. Excellent Adam, enjoyed your video update… keep on keeping on bro!!

Leave a Reply

