Nurture

Christian Writers Blog ChainOnce again it’s time for me to make my monthly contribution to the ChristianWriters.com blog chain. During May we are discussing the topic “Nurture”. This can bring many different images to people’s minds, but for me, as a parent, the biggest thing that immediately comes to my mind is nurturing my children. This is quite topical for me at the moment because during the month of May I am having to give a double-dose of nurturing to my kids.

My beautiful wife is curently studying at university to become a registered nurse. We discovered at the beginning of this year, that she had been assigned a four-week prac in Hobart, at the other end of the state. This was obviously not acceptable. We could not expect our children to be without their mother for an entire month. We debated, and pleaded with the university to arrange her a placement closer to home. We went through every channel possible. All to no avail. Eventually we just had to accept the inevitable and trust God like crazy.

It was going to be a huge challenge. Not only would my wife be alone in another city with no family support, it was going to be a financial burden. The university doesn’t provide any assistance to students being placed away from home. We would have to find funds for accomodation, food, and the big one – Petrol! We had to accept that this was just going to be a huge faith-building excercise.

It hasn’t been easy, but we’re managing. My wife is having a very good prac. She is learning a lot and it seems that she is going to do very well in this subject. She was able to come up for the weekend which was costly in terms of petrol, but wonderful all the same.

Meanwhile, I’m getting a little taste of what it’s like to be a single dad. My parents have been absolutely wonderful with picking up kids from school, looking after them until I finish work, and a few other unexpected blessings.

All this one-on-one time with my kids reminds me that there are many children out there who living with absent fathers. Being a father isn’t just about the big memorable moments – It’s all the little things like helping your son get dressed, and listening to your daughter read. It’s about kissing them goodnight, and making their lunches, and seeing them safely onto the school bus. It’s a lot of hard work – but it’s all part of nurturing the children that God has blessed you with. I’m getting plenty of opportunity to build relationship with my kids and that is a wonderful thing. It’s a great responsibility to be entrusted with children to nurture, but it’s also a wonderful blessing. You can’t have one without the other.

My daughter draw this picture the day that Mummy left for Hobart

Follow the Chain

About Adam David Collings

Adam Collings is a writer of speculative fiction who works as a software engineer during the day. He lives in Tasmania, Australia with his wife and two children. Adam is currently working on a science fiction novel.
This entry was posted in Christian Writers Blog Chain and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Nurture

  1. Pegg Thomas says:

    Good for you, Adam! Being Mr. Mom for a few weeks will give your children some unique memories they will treasure, even though they’ll miss their mom. Nurture away!

  2. wordsculptor says:

    You’re much stronger than me my friend – I’d have waved the white flag within hours !

    • Thanks Keith. I’ve always been a pretty involved father anyway, but it’s surprising what a difference it makes when you don’t have that other person to say “can you run the bath while I finish dishing up tea.”

  3. Jack Brown says:

    good to hear you’re making the most of this nurturing time Adam
    not easy but well worth it

  4. sandigrace says:

    What a challenge! But what a blessed opportunity as well. Years ago, I had the experience of being a “single mom” when my husband was in training for around 12 weeks. I did not like it at all. I agree with you, the children need both parents. There is a teamwork-encouragement-balancing thing that goes on with parents. There are subtle unspoken strengths passed from one to the other that, when missing, leave a huge hole. And no matter what anyone says, Daddys are as essential as Mommys. God knew what He was doing. God bless you as you face this challenge. Enjoy the hugs and kisses. 🙂

    • Yep, you’ve got it Sandi. It’s the lack of that teamwork-encouragement-balancing thing that makes it harder. Wow 12 weeks, that makes my 4 weeks seem like nothing. We are heading down to Hobart tomorrow night so we can spend Mother’s Day with my wife.

  5. lynnmosher says:

    Adam, this was certainly timely for you, wasn’t it? I’m sorry this time has been a hardship for everyone, but, as Pegg said, there will be some great memories. Hope your wife does well and the time passes quickly. You’re a brave soldier. Loved your post. Blessings to you!

  6. Terrie says:

    Adam I loved the part where you said you both tired everything to get the assignment closer, but to no avail! I have found when I have hit that brick wall and do everything within my power to circumvent the obstacle, that it is truly a blessing in disguise. The time you have with your children are precious moments that will last for a lifetime. Perhaps this is the reason the brick wall was not removed. Perhaps the Lord knew exactly what each of you needed. Peace and Blessings

Leave a Reply

