Writing Update Video – Spring 2012

See my latest writing update video below.

Transcript

How’s it going? I’m Adam Collings, aspiring author and writer of speculative fiction. Well spring has arrived here in Australia, which is good. I like spring because it’s not too hot. I find summer a bit hard to cope with sometimes.

It’s been a pretty hectic time for my family lately, but we’re coming up for air now. I’ve got a couple of weeks of annual leave coming up soon so I’ll be spending a bit of time with family – playing with the kids. I’m also looking forward to spending some time working on my novel. I’ve been doing a lot of outlining lately on my epic space fantasy, and really enjoying that. I’ve been interviewing my characters to get a better idea of who they are as people. A resource I’ve find quite useful during this process has been ‘Outline Your Novel – Map Your Way to Success‘ by K.M. Weiland. It’s quite a good book.

So the story is starting to come together and I’m getting more and more of a feel for what’s going to happen. I’ve still got a bit to work on with the climax at the end but the more I look at it, the more I think this may be the story that helps me cross the line from being a writer to being an author. I’ll be looking forward to sharing more about it later. I’ve found a theme song, it’s almost as if it’s been written for my story so that’s great.

I’ve added a new page to my website, listing some of my influences as a writer, and I’m going to be doing a series of blog posts, writing some details about each one – describing what I like about these authors and what it is about their work that has inspired my own writing. So look out for that.

About Adam David Collings

Adam Collings is a writer of speculative fiction who works as a software engineer during the day. He lives in Tasmania, Australia with his wife and two children. Adam is currently working on a science fiction novel.
This entry was posted in Family, Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

