Research

ResearchI’ve been an amateur writer all of my life. I remember sitting in restaurants with my parents as a child, writing stories in notebooks while we waited for the food to arrive. In school, the most exciting activity was creative writing. In grade 10, I wrote a novella for an assignment (terrible as it was by adult standards).

I am on a journey at the moment – the destination in mind is that of ‘professional writer’. As I see it, the final step in that journey would be publication, but there are lots of changes to make along the way. One big change I’ve learned to make, is outlining. More on that another time. Another thing that I believe sets the professional apart from the amateur is research. If you really want to take novel writing seriously then you have to invest the time and effort to do your research.

This has been a fascinatingly peculiar project in terms of research. The story in question (my epic space fantasy) incorporates plenty of world-building, but also some elements that might be considered historical. I have been researching everything from astronomy to Tasmanian history. Soon I’ll want to start reading about modern-day slavery. Could all of these diverse subjects possibly fit together in any meaningful way? Possibly only in an Adam Collings novel.

I’ve been doing a lot of reading on the subject of early Tasmanian history lately. I’ve joined the local library, and drawn on an even bigger resource – my Mum. Yep, she and I share an interest in the history of this state so she’s got a lot of books. Another fascinating resource I’ve found (which you can access online) is the Tasmanian Archives and Heritage Office.

Well, enought talk. I have research to do!

Books Tasmanian History

Research Books – Tasmanian History

About Adam David Collings

Adam Collings is a writer of speculative fiction who works as a software engineer during the day. He lives in Tasmania, Australia with his wife and two children. Adam is currently working on a science fiction novel.
This entry was posted in Australia, Tasmania, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Research

  1. From an ink smeared page says:

    All the best with your writing dreams (and your research into Tasmanian history!)

  2. jumeirajames says:

    I agree with lots of research but don’t make research your master or you will travel in endless circles.

    My book has a lot of cyber warfare (and a cyber marriage) but it hopefully has a human soul. Epic stories may be wonderful but if the readers cannot identify with a character who is as human and as flawed as themselves then they will cast the book aside.

    Research the human spirit and their experiences, that’s the hardest thing to write about.

Leave a Reply

