YouTube Makes Funny Captions

Have you seen it? YouTube have implemented an interesting feature. It attempts to auto-generate English captions for your videos by analysing the speech in the sound track. I had a look at what it came up with on one of my videos – Adam Collings Writing Update Spring 2012. The results were hilarious.

What I said
What YouTube thinks I said

How’s it going? I’m Adam Collings, aspiring author and writer of speculative fiction.
mascara i’m adam hollings aspiring author and writers nicotine addiction

Well spring’s arrived here in Australia, which is good.
possibly structure is sound.

I like spring because it’s not too hot. I find summer a bit hard to cope with sometimes.
hot springs is not too hot. Crimes on the ground sometimes.

It’s been a pretty hectic time for my family lately, but we’re coming up for air now
delivery gtalk my family but we’re coming up a nap.

I’m also looking forward to spending some time on my novel.
philosophy folate to spend some time with you at all.

still got a bit of work to do on the climax at the end, but the more I think about, the more I think this could be the story that helps me cross the line from being a writer to being an author.
stupid concealer literally means president and them wanting to know i mean this administering country must live himasa.

so I’m Adam Collings and you can find me online at collingszone.wordpress.com
it’s finally singing on the line also so flintstone.

To try it out for yourself, click the transcripts button on a video, and then watch the captions scroll by.

YouTube Transcript

YouTube Captions

About Adam David Collings

Adam Collings is a writer of speculative fiction who works as a software engineer during the day. He lives in Tasmania, Australia with his wife and two children. Adam is currently working on a science fiction novel.
This entry was posted in Fun and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

