The Thankfulness Revolution

ThankfulnessA revolution has started – a thankfulness revolution. It all started with a friend (Dani Misdom), who has just finished his term as creative arts pastor at my church. Having witnessed how much negativity gets shared on social media (we’re all guilty of it right) he chose to share something that he was thankful for every single day of 2012. Many thought he wouldn’t make it but dispite this he was victorious.

Two days ago his shared the story of his journey in a message which you can download here: (Thankfulness Journey). In this message he makes several important points about thankfulness:

  • Being thankful requires faith.
  • Being thankful requires action. For me, it was writing it down and engaging with it.
  • Being thankful is a spiritual discipline in itself.
  • Being thankful changes your perspective.

Dani has challenged us all to follow in his footsteps and take up the challenge. I’ve been thinking long and hard about this.To be honest I was hesitant. I knew that it would be difficult. I knew that there will be days this year when I really, really, really don’t want to be thankful. I can be a bit of a negative bloke. But that only proves to me how much I should be doing this. So this year I’ll be sharing something I’m thankful for each day. My wife will be doing it too. I’m not seeing this as a ‘new year’s resolution’. It’s more of a life-style change.

I will also be reading the book 21 Days of Gratitude Challenge by Shelley Hitz to further inspire and motivate me. I got this as a kindle freebie last year but haven’t read it yet.

Now here’s the thing – you don’t have to share my Christian beliefs to be a part of it. We can all choose to be thankful regardless of our beliefs. So why not consider joining the thankfulness revolution and see how we can all be changed by it in 2013.

Happy new year!

Photo Credit: ‘Thanks’ image by Wikipedia contributor Infrogmation.

About Adam David Collings

Adam Collings is a writer of speculative fiction who works as a software engineer during the day. He lives in Tasmania, Australia with his wife and two children. Adam is currently working on a science fiction novel.
This entry was posted in Devotionals and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Thankfulness Revolution

  1. thielelyn says:

    Being thankful is way better than being not thankful. If I think about the negative things in my life, I can only see how sad I am. But if I think about how much God is blessing me, sometimes with hard things to handle, I can be strengthened and grow in the right direction.
    Lyn.

Leave a Reply

