Writing Update Video – Summer 2012

It’s summer here in Australia, and that means it’s time for another writing update video from me. Sew how I’m going with everything below.

Transcript

Hi. How ya going? I’m Adam Collings – writer of speculative fiction. Summer is well and truly here, and that means sun, trips to the beach and a nice long Christmas holiday.

This is a great time of the year to enjoy my wonderful home state of Tasmania. I’m really appreciating the time off work. It’s allowed me to make some progress on my epic space fantasy.

I’ve been pretty busy outlining since my last update, and I’ve been working on the first daft of act 1. I’ve also been doing a lot of research for the historical aspect of my book.

It really has been a blast working on this story. I look forward to the day when I can share it with readers. I hope someone out there will enjoy reading it as much as I’m enjoying writing it.

This monument is dedicated to the memory of William Henry Burrows who was a 23 year old guy who lost his life trying to save a girl who got washed off the shore on these rocks. She was eventually saved the by Devonport surf life-saving club. As writers it’s our business to invent heros, but this is the story of a real-life hero.

During 2012 I read 40 books. I’ve challenged myself to read 42 in 2013. The kindle has been wonderful, opening up a whole world of new books and authors that I otherwise would never have read.

On a side note, I’ve taken up the challenge, following the fotsteps of a friend of mine, to post something I’m thankful for on Facebook and Twitter every single day during 2013. I’ve been enjoying it so far. I believe it will have a major impact on my outlook on life. I also kno it isn’t going to be easy. Let’s face it, there are some days we just want to be negative. My wife’s doing it too so we will keep each other accountable.

So anyway, I’m Adam Collings, and you can find me online at collingszone.wordpress.com.

About Adam David Collings

Adam Collings is a writer of speculative fiction who works as a software engineer during the day. He lives in Tasmania, Australia with his wife and two children. Adam is currently working on a science fiction novel.
This entry was posted in Australia, Tasmania, Video and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Writing Update Video – Summer 2012

  1. Tasmania? Oh, I hope that you and your family survived the recent fires intact. There has been a lot of loss and tragedy down there of late. 😦

    Anyway, onto happier news. I have tagged you as the Next Big Thing! You can find more information here: http://emilystealeaves.wordpress.com/2013/01/14/the-next-big-thing/

    cheers 🙂

Leave a Reply

