She’ll be right Mate – Australia Day

Australia DayAustralia Day is here again. I love being Australian. I love our unique sense of humour. I love the varied beauty of the different parts of our land – from sprawling deserts, to lush rainforests, to ice-capped mountains. I love our laid-back attitude. “She’ll be right Mate” might be a huge cliché but it nicely sums up the Australian way.

It occurs to me that a lot of stories would have been shorter and a lot less complicated if they’d been set in Australia. Consider these examples from popular culture.

Star Wars Episode 1

Qui-Gon: The boy is the chosen one. He must be trained.
Yoda: Hmm. The chosen one he may be, but great danger I fear in his training.
Qui-Gon: Nah, she’ll be right.
Back on Naboo
Obi-Wan: Oh look – a Sith Lord.
Qui-Gon: Here Annakin, have a lightsabre. Just wave it around at the bad guy.
Fight Ensues
Qui-Gon: Three against one. That was easy.
Obi-Wan: Didn’t we have some droids and ships to deal with now?
Qui-Gon: Don’t worry about it Mate. I think Padme left a cold one in the fridge and I could use a breather.

Twilight

Bella: I love you. We should get together.
Edward: Yeah, but I’m a vampire. What if I loose control and want to eat you? And won’t that Jacob bloke get jealous?
Bella: (shrugs) She’ll be right.
Edward Yeah you’re right Darl. Let’s go get hitched right now.

Smallville (which would be renamed Tamworth)

Jonathan:Clark, you came to us from another world.
Clark: I guess I should reveal myself to this world. Y’know, help people out a bit with my powers.
Jonathan: But aren’t you worried the government will want to experiment on you. Maybe villians will want to hurt the people you love. Aren’t you too busy pining endlessly over Lana?
Clark: Nah she’ll be right Dad.
Moments later Clark swoops low over Sydney Harbour
Clark: G’day Australia. You can call me Superman. I’m here to help, but I don’t work on weekends, so don’t even think about calling for help on a Staturday arvo.

While the “she’ll be right” attitude can sometimes make us lazy in the face of responsibilities, it can also lend itself to a life of faith. Rather than wasting endless energy worrying about stuff, we can place it in God’s hands and say “she’ll be right mate”. Why? Not “just because”, but because we know that God is good and that he works all things for good for those who love him.

I leave you now with some image of our great south land, and a song that always gets the national pride going. It’s Steve Grace singing ‘The Great Southland of the Holy Spirit’.

HAPPY AUSTRALIA DAY

About Adam David Collings

Adam Collings is a writer of speculative fiction who works as a software engineer during the day. He lives in Tasmania, Australia with his wife and two children. Adam is currently working on a science fiction novel.
This entry was posted in Australia, Fun and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to She’ll be right Mate – Australia Day

  1. madiebeartri says:

    Enjoy! If your celebrations are half as fun as the ones here in Tennessee, you are going to have a great day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

