Peter Capaldi as The Twelfth Doctor

Peter Capaldi

Looks a bit like Tom Baker’s Hair

At 4:00 AM this morning (Australian Time) the BBC broadcast a special show to announce the actor who will play the 12th doctor on Doctor Who. I admit I didn’t get up to watch it (I have work today) but my wife did. They have announced Peter Capaldi as The Doctor.

Interestingly, he is the same age that William Hartnell was when he was cast as the first doctor. I really enjoyed Matt Smith’s youthful take on the doctor but I was hoping for an older actor this time, just to change it up a bit.

Given that Peter Capaldi has previously appeared in Doctor Who in an episode set around the time of the destruction of Pompei, I can’t help but wonder if the writers will have a bit of fun with that. I wouldn’t put it past them to try to tie the two together somewhow. It’s what writers refer to as “hanging a lantern on it”.

I’m can’t say I’m overly familiar with Capaldi’s work so I’m looking forward to seeing how it all turns out. I’ll say this though, he just seems to have ‘the look of the doctor’ – whatever that is.

Image Credit

  • Advertisements
  • About Adam David Collings

    Adam Collings is a writer of speculative fiction who works as a software engineer during the day. He lives in Tasmania, Australia with his wife and two children. Adam is currently working on a science fiction novel.
    This entry was posted in Science Fiction and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

    Leave a Reply

    