The Great Silence – Soundtrack and First Draft

Today I typed ‘The End’. That’s right, I’ve finished the first draft of my Space Opera novel The Great Silence. While this is hardly the end of the journey (more like the beginning as this is when the hard work begins) it is still a great feeling.

To celebrate, I thought I’d share something I’ve been putting together. Just as movies often have soundtrack CDs, some authors like to come up with soundtracks for their books. I’ve found a couple of songs that I think are relevant to my story. I thought I’d share them below. Note that this is not necessarily complete. I will likely add more songs in the future. One thing I definitely want to do is find an Australian song or two, given that this is an aussie novel.

The Great Silence – Soundtrack to the novel by Adam Collings

  • For Those Who Wait by Fireflight (Theme Song). At one point I was considering calling my novel “Those Who Wait”. That’s how good a fit this song seemed to be when I found it. (youTube) (Spotify)
  • Desparate by Fireflight (Alana’s Theme). This song expresses some of the feelings my female protagonist is going through in the third act of the book. (youTube) (Spotify)
  • Born Again by Newsboys (Javan’s Theme). This song fits well with my male protagonist’s journey. (youTube) (Spotify)
  • King’s and Queens by Audio Adrenaline (Royal Theme). Royalty and slavery are two of the themes in this book. The message of this song fits nicely. (youTube) (Spotify)
  • Sovereign by Chris Tomlin (Spiritual Theme). This song matches the cry of the character’s hearts at the end of the book, when their character arcs have come to completion. It expresses the main theme of the book quite nicely. (youTube) (Spotify)
  • Never Once by Matt Redman (Finale). I can imagine the my protagonists singing this song at the end of the book – well not literally. If this were a movie soundtrack, this song would play over the ending credits. (youTube) (Spotify)

You can listen to the entire sountrack for free (and completely legal) using spotify. Full Soundtrack. I’ll be keeping this playlist up to date if I add more songs.

Enjoy the music!

About Adam David Collings

Adam Collings is a writer of speculative fiction who works as a software engineer during the day. He lives in Tasmania, Australia with his wife and two children. Adam is currently working on a science fiction novel.
This entry was posted in Fun, My Books, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

