If I had One Year Left To Live (Giveaway)

Blog Hop Button #3

What would you do if you knew you had one year left to live? It’s a difficult question. It’s one being asked by author Nadine Brandes on a blog hop promoting her brilliant new dystopian book A Time To Die (more on that shortly).

The first thought that occurs to me is that I would quit my job immediately (not that I don’t like my job) and focus on writing full-time, in an attempt to get my novel finished, and hopefully published, before I leave this world. Of course then I would have to face the fact that I’d not be able to provide for my family. I would lose my house and my kids would be hungry.

Seriously though, I would place my writing above all other ‘personal pursuits’. There would be no time for computer games. I’d push through and work on editing my book regardless of how tired I felt. It just wouldn’t matter. Authoring books is something I feel that I was created to do, and while I have been working on it for many years it remains my great unfulfilled destiny (though I am getting much closer). To be honest I have already been feeling this pressure. Not that I expect to die in a year, but as middle-age creeps slowly closer I find myself looking back, and thinking of the writing career I could have had.

No doubt I would speak more openly about my faith and try to share about the hope I have that continues beyond death. I would try to make my last days count for God – considering each of them both a gift from him as well as a responsibility to him.

Ultimately though, I think the place a question like this leads you is not so much to what you would do – but how you would do it. If I had one year left to live I would stop wasting so much time worrying and stressing about things that don’t matter, and even those that do.

I would spend less time yelling at my kids, and more time building memories with them. I would strive harder to ensure that I had passed on my values to them, and to make sure they knew how much I love them, and how proud of I am of them. In fact I would make sure many people knew how much I loved them. I would spend as much time as I possibly could with my beautiful wife. I would try to find a way to say goodbye to her, though how one says goodbye to such a close loved-one is beyond my comprehension.

Of course there is little point thinking about a question like this unless it changes how you live today. To challenge yourself on your priorities and character.

So now I ask you. If you knew you had one year left to live, what would YOU do?

About the Book

A Time To Die Cover

How would you live if you knew the day you’d die?

Parvin Blackwater believes she has wasted her life. At only seventeen, she has one year left according to the Clock by her bedside. In a last-ditch effort to make a difference, she tries to rescue Radicals from the government’s crooked justice system.

But when the authorities find out about her illegal activity, they cast her through the Wall —— her people’s death sentence. What she finds on the other side about the world, about eternity, and about herself changes Parvin forever and might just save her people. But her Clock is running out.

Give-away

The author Nadine Brandes is giving away a signed paperback of A Time To Die. This is a must-read book.
ENTER HERE.

Connect with the author on her website: nadinebrandes.com. Or on Facebook, Twitter, or GoodReads. Watch my interview with the author.

Follow the rest of this blog hop

9.03.14 – Nadine Brandes

9.08.14 – Ashlee Willis

9.11.14 – Caitlin Schesser

9.15.14 – Jennette Mbewe

9.17.14 – Heather Fitzgerald

9.19.14 – Kristen Stieffel

9.22.14 – Rebekah Gyger

9.25.14 – Lydia Thomas

9.26.14 – Ashley Olson

9.27.14 – Angel Roman

9.28.14 – Rosalie Valentine

9.29.14 – Aubrei Crooke-Adams

9.30.14 – Sarah Grimm

10.01.14 – Jon Del Arroz

10.02.14 – Amy Brandes

10.04.14 – Kathrese McKee

10.07.14 – Karen DeBlieck

10.09.14 – Bethany Jennings

10.10.14 – Angie Brashear

10.13.14 – Adam Collings

10.15.14 – Bree Courtney

10.20.14 – Gretchen Engel

10.24.14 – JC Morrows

10.30.14 – Lisa Gedfries

About Adam David Collings

Adam Collings is a writer of speculative fiction who works as a software engineer during the day. He lives in Tasmania, Australia with his wife and two children. Adam is currently working on a science fiction novel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

